DECOUPAGE COASTERS

Decoupage Coasters

For a long time now, I had been noticing the increasing popularity of decoupage technique amongst the crafters in India. Everyone was making numerous beautiful things like decoupaged bottle or an altered tray/box using this technique.

DSC_0380s

All these creations always made me want to try this technique but somehow it never felt like the right time. The decoupage tissues that were normally available in the market didn’t really match my preference in terms of the prints and designs.

DSC_0405S

Decoupaging a bottle had become so very common that I felt I’d be just another crafter doing this. I always wanted to try my hand at it but at the same time wanted to make something which suited my needs more particularly my style of craft.

DSC_0403S

I had a set of coasters lying around the house that had gone dirty over a period of time. Giving them a makeover in some way or the other was on the list of to do’s for some time now. Then I came across these new designs launched by Itsy Bitsy which were more on the traditional side, just the way I like.  Ethnic and traditional prints have never failed to attract me. I picked one of the designs and used them over the old coasters.

DSC_0424s

The results were surprisingly beautiful !! I managed to up-do a complete set of coasters into something so very different. I made sure to use 3 coats of the decoupage glue just to seal everything well. I still don’t think these can be used under a cup or mug as that would stain the coaster. But I do intend to use it over the glasses just to cover them and also as a decor accessory in my drawing room as they go perfectly well with the colour scheme in the house.

DSC_0417S

Hope you all like them too !!

Leave a Reply

